I shoulda bloody known, shouldn’t I? The moment I start getting really excited about something, fate or the universe or something decides – “actually no, you can’t have it ALL your way”

So I am off to New York in March – and very excited too.

Its all down to my mum and Meryl Streep, so big thanks to them! For more info go here.

But allow me to summarise. My mum is a subject of a play, one of seven subjects of the play, that will be shown for International Women’s day in New York. Lots of actresses have played the part mainly theatre actresses that are not so well known internationally. But excellent actresses. Susan Sarandon sent mum a letter expressing interest but saying that she was contracted to a movie and couldn’t do it for the dates – that was for a performance last year.

This year, Meryl Streep is on board! I know. When people say – who would play you in a movie – what would you say? My mum has previously said in an interview “Angelina Jolie”, but I reckon she’ll settle for Ms Streep, don’t you?

So I couldn’t pass this up, and I havent seen the play yet, so I have booked my flight and away we go. Scott free? I think not.

Then the boiler packs in. It freezing. Its snowing for crying out loud. No I don’t have that homecare cover thing before you ask. So Maisie has been packed off to her granny’s, and we are wearing longjohns and fingerless gloves like two Fagan’s, cooking sausages over the fire, well not quite but you get the idea. Heaters have been donated and Scottish Gas man is expected (between 12 and 6… grrrr), so heres hoping that I can go back to dreaming about New York very very soon.

I shall need some recommendations my friends; restaurants shops and fabric dens! I have plenty of wool to be going on with and now I have my wee sewing machine I really need some nice fabric to start playing with. Laurie has sent me a great list from trip advisor, but all other suggestions welcome!

